A Grand Update

Hey all, it’s been a while. After getting Marlon things were very busy, and free time became rare. Then I sort of forgot that I even had this blog! However, I’ve finally remembered, and now I am back to hopefully regular updating.

Long story short; I picked up Marlon. We drove over two hours up Florida to meet Marlon’s breeder. She’s a wonderful woman, and I couldn’t be happier. Marlon rode on my lap the entire trip home, so I guess it’s no surprise that by day two he had fully latched onto me. The first night was terrible. I tried having this poor nine week old puppy sleep alone in his crate on his first night away from his family. As you can imagine, that didn’t work out. It was midnight when our resident adviser knocked on the door to ask why there was a puppy screaming in our room. So I ended up sleeping on the floor with Marlon nestled against me…and slept like that for the next three weeks, during finals week. He picked up on sit almost immediately, as well as potty training. We had issues with separation anxiety- he didn’t like me leaving. Anyone else could leave he couldn’t care less, but if I left then he would cry and cry and cry! He was also very difficult on a leash, but it turns out this was more my fault, and once I learned how to communicate with him better, things got easier. He amazed me with his gentle nature and excellent behavior when out and about. He never has been aggressive towards another dog. When an angry little silken terrier snapped at him, Marlon simply sat down beside me without batting an eye. There are many other stories about specific times that I’ll share over the next few weeks, but I’m trying to keep this as a semi-brief summary.

Well, three weeks went by incredibly fast. Marlon went from 10 pounds of fluff to 15 pounds of fluff during this time, and drew compliments like honey draws flies. I celebrated the day he reached 14″ tall, for he was finally of Standard size! Once I finished finals, my mom finally got to meet him and absolutely fell in love. She babysat for a day, and Marlon got to play with a wolf-dog hybrid (unfortunately she didn’t get any photos of this), and befriend a small child who was previously afraid of dogs. Then we started a three-day journey up the east coast, back home to NY. Along the way Marlon mostly slept peacefully. I did have to spend about two hours one night in Virginia, under the pouring rain, shivering, running back and fourth across a small grassy spot outside of the hotel trying to wear Marlon out, shouting; “JUST GO POTTY!” the entire time. I did get some strange looks.

Marlon discovered evergreens and dandelions, and found that he loves both. He tried to play tug-of-war with a tree outside of a fast food joint. To say the least, he lost that match. He did, however, manage to befriend a very carsick Jack Russell Terrier along the way.

When we finally got home we were all beyond exhausted. I walked Marlon in our front yard while my mom’s dog, who is not fond of strange dogs, watched warily from behind my parents’ legs. It took her about two weeks to fully accept Marlon into the pack, but now that she has the two are good friends.

Shortly after getting home, my mom ended up adopting a 7 week old red heeler puppy (the same breed as her 2 year old dog, Roo). This little guy was named Joey, and he’s also now part of Marlon’s pack.

I have many specific little stories to share, as Marlon is nearly 5 months old now! But I will save them for another time.

Marlon Stats:

Age: 21 weeks

Height: 22 inches

Weight: 41 pounds

IMG_9278

Leave a Reply

